Canada's Dojo Directory

2,203 Dojos in Canada, 30,312 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 1454 Visitors

Reviews of Karate Excellence - At Villa Maria High School

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Karate Excellence - At Villa Maria High School in Montréal, Canada. 30 Reviewer rated Karate Excellence - At Villa Maria High School as Excellent. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Excellent (30 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent

30 out of 30 Reviewer recommended Karate Excellence - At Villa Maria High School.

Karate Excellence - excellent in many ways

Mar 11 2017 by John K (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sensei Sandra's karate school is amazing. I watch the class each time my daughter attends and feel the great energy of all the girls. Sandra has a way of capturing the girls and teaching them challenging karate and self-defense, while more importantly emphasizing discipline and respect for the Sensei and fellow students. I recommend this karate school for any child. My daughter LOVES coming here !


Fantastic Experience for my shy daughter

Mar 10 2017 by Ohogeboom (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter started Karate about 10 months ago. She is very shy and she was very hesitant to start and continue Karate. Sandra has been a wonderful teacher. Kind, patient and has continued to tell my daughter that she believes in her and that she can overcome her fears. She recently completed her first belt test and is so proud of herself. Despite finding it difficult she has overcome her fear with the wonderful support of Sandra (and the rest of the team). My daughter has increased confidence and is starting to believe that she can overcome anything. She is also starting to feel like she belongs to a community. Sandra does a very good job at community building and creating a team culture. I would highly recommend Karate Excellence.


Karate Excellence is aptly named

Feb 05 2017 by Patric (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Karate Excellence is really excellence in so many ways; in the teachings of Karate-respect and discipline, and in the empowerment. ..of my niece. Ever since my niece attended this dojo, she's been empowered in so many ways; the constant positive encouragements of Sensei Sandra Coffee and her team while showing the right moves has made her more confident in all aspects of her life. No wonder she keeps telling me ''I love Sensei''. True respect for oneself and others, empowerment, pushing for excellence is what you can expect from that school which I strongly recommend. I've heard the same testimonies from other parents about their daughter(s).


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Best EVER (and we are educators!)

Sep 17 2016 by Danica (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter loves karate at Yoshukan Karaté Excellence and so do we. My husband is a professor and I work in educational technology. As educators, we are picky about our daughter's activities and Sensei Sandra is the Real Deal. She builds teams, offers role models, gives individual instruction and builds confidence in EVERY CLASS.

We are working parents and we always make time for our daughter to come to karate. This is a place to empower your daughter and help her feel strong and capable. The lessons are calibrated to teach to the level: challenging enough to strive yet adjusted enough for them to succeed. Each class my daughter leaves happy. --and so do we.


A perfect place to study karate

Aug 04 2016 by E. Mamedov (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

We subscribed our daughter to karate classes recently, and before her first day she was not sure that she was going to like it. But after the first meeting with Sensei Sandra our daughter fell in love with the school. It's a unique school with a great friendly environment where is respect for each other is essential. Sensei Sandra is a wonderful instructor who can be strict when it's needed and she also likes making jokes and cheering her students up. We are glad that our daughter is attending the karate classes with Sensei Sandra because it helps to raise her self-esteem up and it's an excellent way to contribute to our daughter's well-being and health.


Best karate school in town

Aug 03 2016 by Mahfujul Hoque (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter being introvert & 'too compassionate' in nature, she lacks the conviction therefore I was looking forward to a karate class which will inject confidence in her to shape her personality and bring personal conviction. I tried different karate schools in Montreal before I came to know about Karate excellence but unfortunately I struggled to make her interested in those classes. Instructor in Karate excellence is the key differentiator from other schools that made Karate excellence stand out from others. Sandra, the instructor is a lady with amazing personality and she is not only the master in karate but also knows very well how to handle different kids and grow the interest in them. I look forward for my daughter to continue with karate excellence and would highly recommend to others.


My daughter LOVES it here

Mar 21 2016 by Ms. N. (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I signed my 8 year old daughter up in the fall of 2015 for 6 months. Our membership is up and when I asked her if she wanted to sign up for another 6 months, she answered emphatically, "Of course I do!". Her teacher, Sensei Sandra, works closely with each girl, carefully watching their technique and pointing out specific areas of needed improvement. I find that one of the reasons why the students respond well to her is that Sensei Sandra is able to combine discipline and fun. Sandra often uses humour when appropriate, yet is serious about maintaining focus. Sensei Sandra also provides teaching opportunities for students who are at a higher belt level, so that the younger girls can get more one on one attention. Since she already is a focused child, what my daughter is mostly taking away from this is a sense of confidence, which is overall making her a lot less shy. My daughter sincerely loves coming here and willingly attends classes 3 times a week. She has made new friends and with Sensei Sandra as her teacher, our family has welcomed another positive female role model into her life.


Great instructor and fun class!

Feb 12 2016 by A.C (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

I highly recommend this place. Sandra is a great instructor, she is nice, firm and fun in her classes. It has been a very good experience for my daughter, helping her to improve her concentration and motors skills, she really enjoys the class.


Excellent Instructor, Amazing Dojo

Feb 10 2016 by A. Martin (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I can’t recommend Karate Excellence enough! Challenging both body and mind, Sensei Sandra is an incredibly dedicated and nurturing instructor who empowers every single one of her students to be more focussed, disciplined and self-assured. Since my daughter started in September 2015, I have seen such improvements in her concentration, organizational skills and self-confidence. She absolutely loves going and I’m so grateful that Sensei Sandra provides the perfect mix of technique, encouragement and fun.


Très belle discipline pour développer la concentration, l'attention et la confiance en soi!

Apr 26 2015 by Nath! (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellente école de karaté grâce au sensei Sandra et aux instructeurs invités (tous excellents!) Nous sommes toujours informées des compétitions, des tournois. Très bon suivi d'encadrement pédagogique.

C'est une très belle discipline qui développe la concentration, l'attention, la mémorisation et surtout la confiance en soi!

Ma fille de 10 ans adore ;-) !


Fun place to study Karate

Apr 16 2015 by I Diane (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Mes deux filles ont beaucoup de plaisir à l'École - Yoshukan Karate Excellence. L`Une elle n'a dit un jour que de toutes ses activités parascolaire, le karaté était parmi ses 2 activités préférées. Elles aiment toutes les séances de cours mais l`une préfère les séances de combats et l`autres les séances de Kata. Toutes les deux adorent les compétitions et travaille fort pour passer au niveau suivant dans les ceintures.

Pour moi l’École - Yoshukan Karate Excellence développe la communication, la concentration, le respect, la culture du Karaté, l’estime de soi, d’auto-défense en situation réelle et imaginaire.


Très bon endroit pour apprendre le Yoshukan Karaté!!!

Apr 11 2015 by JCheung (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Mes deux filles adorent cette discipline, car l’École - Yoshukan Karate Excellence développe la concentration, l’estime de soi et la force. L'École enseigne entre autres le respect et les rudiments d’auto-défense en situation réelle.


A fun place for girls to study Martial Arts

Apr 07 2015 by Sanaz (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter has joined to Karate Excellence recently and she loves it. Sensei Sandra is a very nice, patient and responsible teacher with a high degree of professionalism. I highly recommend the Karate Excellence for girls and women!


Builds self-confidence and improves focus.

Apr 06 2015 by L Campbell (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Our 10 year old daughter has been with Karate Excellence for almost a year and our appreciation grows with every passing week. Sensei Sandra is an excellent teacher and is able to bring out the best in all her students. Not only is my daughter learning karate and self-defense techniques but is building confidence and improving her ability to focus. We are so happy to have found such a wonderful community for our daughter to thrive in.


Une école à recommander

Apr 05 2015 by F. Lemieux (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Ce qui m'a d'abord plu dans cette école, c'est l'ambiance accueillante; on s'y sent vite intégrée. La Sensei est très à l'écoute de ses élèves et les traîte avec considération. L'enseignement dispensé est de très grande qualité selon moi. L'élève est amené à se questionner sur le pourquoi d'une telle technique et rien n'est laissé au hasard. La Sensei adapte son enseignement au rythme et au tempérament de chacun, et pousse l'élève à se dépasser, toujours dans le respect. Je recommande cette école à quiconque sans aucune hésitation.


A fantastic place to learn karate!

Apr 05 2015 by Hayley (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I recently joined Karate Excellence, and I'm loving it. Sensei Sandra is very inviting, and is dedicated to making sure all of the students are learning and having a good time. She has a wonderful approach with everyone. The fellow students are very friendly, and always willing to help newbies improve their skills. I highly recommend this dojo to girls and women!


Excellent Sensei at Karate Excellence

Apr 05 2015 by G. Doyle (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

I am not very knowledgeable about martial arts but I can comment on the atmosphere of the dojo. The female-only environment is a definite asset especially for girls who may be shy or intimidated by boys. The Sensei is warm and inviting. She is patient with younger members of the dojo and provides fun activities, which teach basic skills in a non-threatening manner. I have noticed that her expectations of the older members rises accordingly. She is able to engender focus in her students and seems very interested in stressing proper technique. When my daughter started she only would go to one class a week but now she usually attends three. It is definitely something to which she looks forward.


This is definitely something special, everybody!

Sep 21 2014 by m.k (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I'm so happy I found this school. I can't even find one negative thing about it. Karate itself is actually a very good thing for your health and all, because of how it teaches discipline, self-control, self-defense, and increases your fitness. But there is one major, major quality about this particular school that makes it stand out; the social environment. Most girls who wish to join karate are scared to do so because of the idea of being judged (or something of that sort). But the Senseis that teach here - particularly Sensei Sandra, the founder of our school - are so respectable and honorable. And the only-girls environment is so friendly and nonjudgmental that you never, ever have to worry about silly things like getting judged, and you can fully focus on what's being taught. The school has one of those very rare extremely-educating-but-also-extremely-fun environment to it. I think that's why joining this school was, in my opinion, one of the best decisions I've ever made.


I absolutely love this dojo!!

Sep 18 2014 by Isy (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

The instructors are extremely helpful and pushes you to your full capacity. I have made many great friends here as all of the students are really close. I am more confident, strong and happy because of Karate Excellence. I genuinely love this place!!


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

La meilleure entraîneure de karaté en ville

Sep 13 2014 by Martin Hébert (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Seinsei Sandra est une excellente pédagogue. Elle démontre un excellent leadership auprès des filles. Elle est très organisé et la communication avec les filles et les parents est excellente. Ma fille adore sont cours de karaté. Elle s'améliore et s'amuse beaucoup tout en gagnant de la confiance en elle. Je vous recommande ce cours sans aucune hésitation.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Excellent cours, excellents instructeurs

Sep 12 2014 by Monique C. (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Je suis la mère d'une fille de 9 ans. Ma fille a commence le karaté il y a de cela un an au Karate Excellence et elle adore! Ce sport l'aide à se concentrer et à developer un grand sens du respect. De plus, sa coordination est améliorée et son équilibre aussi. De nature un peu timide, elle l'est beaucoup moins car elle a acquis plus de confiance en elle avec le karate. Je suis très contente qu'elle y aille deux fois par semaine!

Merci à Karate Excellence!


J'aime pas...J'adore !

Sep 10 2014 by Francine (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Ma fille prend des cours de karaté au Dojo Karate Excellence depuis le mois de janvier 2014 et elle adore. La découverte du karaté s'est faite un peu par hasard pour nous grâce à une classe d'essai. Sensei Sandra apporte une touche toute particulière à ses cours, sachant tirer le meilleur de chacune sans les brusquer. En bout de ligne, la méthode de formation est bien adaptée aux filles, mettant l'accent sur le respect de chacun et le développement de la confiance en soi.


Finally! A karate dojo for girls and women!

Aug 26 2014 by P D (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

For 5 years, my parents wanted me to practice martial arts - karate in specific - and I always refused to even participate in a free class because it was almost only made of boys. From what I've heard, Karate Excellence is the only dojo in Montreal that is reserved for girls and women. At school, boys are more free to laugh at your mistakes while in these classes, laughing at others is not tolerated which helps build confidence and self-esteem. Wonderful teaching, environment and sport!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

What a Great venue for young girls to bond, get fit, and build self-esteem!

Apr 27 2014 by mpitts (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My daughter likes to dance, she has good rhythm, but she didn't want to do the ballet thing. Enter the world of Karate. We discovered this well run, “girls only” Karate school, where I find the movements are akin to a "Combat type of Choreography". The girls learn disciplined movement with a purpose, respect for others, self-discipline, and receive positive reinforcement from Sensei Sandra, and best of all they are bonding and I find my daughter looks forward to her weekly training with more enthusiasm than any other of her extra carricular activities. This September, my daughter will be entering Villa-Maria High School, and we are excited to know that she will be able to go straight from school to Karate twice a week.


Great for Girls/Women!

Jan 03 2014 by LEO (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

I was looking for a good environment for my 6 yr old daughter to learn martial arts and this is it! Sensei Sandra offers an encouraging and challenging environment. The spirit amongst the students is unbeatable. After only a few months, my daughter is fully self-motivated and is now committed to getting a Black Belt...she is really blossoming in this atmosphere of toughness and sensitivity.


Un mot: Génial!

Jan 03 2014 by Patricia (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Je recommande totalement karaté excellence! Ma fille a pris des cours avec Sensei Sandra lors de son camp d'été et après la première classe, elle m'a demandé de lui inscrire pour le cours complet. En même pas trois mois, elle a incroyablement évolué et j'ai pu voir des changements dans son comportement aussi. Elle est plus organisé, propre et a une grande posture du corps. Je trouve karaté un sport très bon car il développe le corps mais aussi l'esprit! Chaque enfant devrait essayer! Merci, Sensei Sandra!


Just GREAT!

Jan 03 2014 by Patricia (Parent of a Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I totally recommend Karate Excellence! My daughter took some classes with Sensei Sandra during her summer Camp and after the first class she asked me to subscribe her for the full course. In not even 3 months she has amazingly evolved and I was able to see changes in her behaviour also. She is more organized,tidy and has a great body posture. I find Karate a very good sport as it develops the body but also the mind! Every kid should try it! Thank you, Sensei Sandra!


A great karate school

Dec 30 2013 by Student/ mom (Active Student with 3 - 6 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My seven-year-old daughter and I have been part of the Karate Excellence School for four months, and we absolutely love it. Sandra Sensei is an excellent teacher who creates a challenging but very positive, motivating and fun environment. I am impressed with how much we have both learned so far. I highly recommend this school to girls and to their moms!


Amazing Karate experience for girls and women of all ages

Dec 22 2013 by Karate mom (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My 10 year old daughter absolutely LOVES Karate thanks to Sensei Sandra's passion, dedicaton and exceptional teaching skills.

The students are taught movements, techniques, and the philosophy of Karate with dignity and respect creating a positive, friendly and challenging environment for all.

In the past year, my daughter has earned so much more than her striped yellow belt. She has gained strength, flexiblility and above all greater self-esteem.

I highly recommend Karate Excellence for all who want to stay physically fit, learn a martial art and self defence.


L'école de karaté idéale!

Dec 22 2013 by Eric (Parent of a Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

J'ai inscrit mes 2 filles aux cours de karaté donné par Sensei Sandra Coffey et elle sont totalement ravis de participer à chacun des 3 cours données par semaine.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Montréal

Top Martial Arts in Montréal, Canada

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Montréal, Canada area. View a list of Dojo in Montréal, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.