Canada's Dojo Directory

2,358 Dojos in Canada, 34,449 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 504 Visitors

Reviews of Conestoga Karate

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Conestoga Karate in Kitchener, Canada. 12 Reviewer rated Conestoga Karate as Very Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Very Good (12 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good

9 out of 12 Reviewer recommended Conestoga Karate.

(1 of 2 People found this review helpful)

They only look out for themselves

Jun 15 2024 by Never again (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

After being dedicated for 7 years they terminated my child's contract when she did nothing wrong out of personal revenge on me. Totally unprofessional to destroy a child's dream. Because of their lack of care for my child, she has to start over again at another (better) dojo, but back at 10th Kyu beginner) because of the different style of karate. This is a major set back to her black belt because now she has to catch up with those who have been at the new place longer than her, even though she has more experience than them. 7 years of training down the drain because of kathy. My kid also lost all the friends she ever made at conestoga (we believe they were told to stay away from us because they stopped contacting us) Do not ever trust kathy. she will pretend to be your friend and when things don't go her way she will destroy you. (i helped a lot at the dojo and they took advantage of that too) she gaslighted me and i did not realize that until now. despite having to start over my child says she is much happier now at the new dojo than before and is learning actual karate. We also learned from the new Dojo that some of the practices that they carry out at Conestoga are actually considered disrespectful by the karate community internationally. Be careful where you choose to start your karate career.


(0 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Dojo. A great place to train under the guiding hand of Sensei Mike & Kathy

May 31 2024 by Michael (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This Dojo has the most amazing atmosphere that makes it easy for all students of Martial Arts to learn at their own speed. Conestoga Karate is under the. Care and guidance of two of the most selfless and giving people I know. Sensei Mike & Kathy freely pass on their combined Karate knowledge of approximately 55 years in such a kind and caring way that any student with any colour belt can flourish while learning an amazing Karate style. Gaining insight, respect and awareness with sights on bettering our community as well as an in-depth understanding into Karate. All this and more makes this Dojo outstanding.


(2 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Not a good place if you are serious

Apr 15 2024 by whatever (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

there are better places that are cheaper and way more professional. if you hope to have a career in karate go elsewhere.


(3 of 9 People found this review helpful)

Unethical, don't waste your time

Apr 14 2024 by someone (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

heard about a recent issue. totally wrong how a student was treated. stay away from them


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Karate and Iaido Dojo

Dec 11 2017 by Sakabra (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Fantastic school. Amazing knowledgeable teachers. Friendly and accepting. Willing to work with your physical limitations. Definitely “A way for all”. Excellent value for how many classes you can attend weekly. Amazing for kids, families, and adults. We love the Karate and Iaido classes. We’ve been attending for 2 months now and are loving it and seeing some great results already. 10/10.


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Great for families! Would certainly recommend you try them out!

Oct 05 2015 by Anon (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Our family joined Conestoga karate as soon as our child was old enough. They create a community environment that supports life long learning of martial arts. Children are challenged to be the best individuals they can be while maintaining a high level of focus.

Adults are also encouraged to create a community with a focus of healthy active living and enjoyment of martial arts - the Sensei's create this community while maintaining a high standard of performance and practise.


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

An Awesome school for the study of Martial Arts

Sep 30 2015 by Moustache man (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

A wonderful school to learn Martial Arts. The skill, knowledge, energy and fun that Sensei Mike and Sensei Kathy bring to the classes is amazing. I have never seen such commitment to everyone involved from the students to the parents, no one is left out.


(1 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Dojo for kids and adults!!!

Sep 30 2015 by Catherine (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sensei Mike and Kathy had been training my boys for several years now. Conestoga Karate promote an encouraging, nurturing, and supportive environment. They host different fun activities for kids and families throughout the year. I would definitely recommend Conestoga Karate to other parents!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Honest respectful and very caring!

Sep 29 2015 by Servie (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I could have not picked a better martial arts school! Sensei Mike and Sensei Kathy are the most amazing people one can meet. I feel absolutely blessed to have my son, my daughter and myself study martial arts wirh such amazing people.

Whole heartedly, I recommend this dojo to anyone!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

So happy to find a Dojo I love!

Sep 29 2015 by Melinda (Active Student with 1 - 3 Months Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

After taking a break from karate for several years because I was not happy with my previous Dojo, I joined Conestoga Karate. Sensie Mike is an amazing Sensie with outstanding character. They made me feel so welcome and treat me and all other students with so much respect and not like just a number.

If you are looking for an amazing Sensie and carying Environment, this is the place to go or take your child to study Martial Arts!


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Honest, Respect, Hardworking, & Friendly.

Sep 29 2015 by Matt2v (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I'm a current student at the dojo and my time since I've join has been exciting from day one. When i first enter the dojo, sensei Mike and sensei Kathy were extremely friendly with open arms and still are to this day. After a few weeks with the dojo, I invited my younger brother and cousins to try out the dojo and its been a tough and fun road. We've been training at conestoga karate for 2 and half years and we cant wait for 3.

Classes are mixed with adultsadults, teenagers, & children. Everyone gets a long with one another and no one is ever left out of practice, because everyone helps one another. Doesn't matter what age or what belt, tgis dojo has taught everyone to respect each other and help when someone is need when sensei is with another student.

The sensei have taught us to respect us and others around. As well to never give up quickly and practice on. I can't wait to see more and more new faces.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

A great place for martial arts

Sep 29 2015 by Andrea M. (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Sensei's Mike and Kathy offer amazing training and instruction, while balancing a professional, yet genuine and kind atmosphere. They are both well-educated and care about providing their students with this knowledge.

This dojo is one that will nurture and strengthen skills positively, without the negative and strict aspects that some dojos use.

I would highly recommend this dojo to anyone looking for a fun environment where they can grow to excel at martial arts.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Kitchener

Top Martial Arts in Kitchener, Canada

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Kitchener, Canada area. View a list of Dojo in Kitchener, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.