Canada's Dojo Directory

2,358 Dojos in Canada, 34,449 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 669 Visitors

Reviews of Mission Isshin Ryu Karate Do

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Mission Isshin Ryu Karate Do in Mission, Canada. 9 Reviewer rated Mission Isshin Ryu Karate Do as Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Good (9 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Good

5 out of 9 Reviewer recommended Mission Isshin Ryu Karate Do.

Good school to learn karate

Oct 21 2022 by Idk (Former Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Not just good for learning karate but helps your fitness a LOT. I definitely found I could run faster after a few months!


(6 of 10 People found this review helpful)

Sensei Peter lacks self-confidence

Jul 09 2020 by Sensei Peter lacks self-confidence (Former Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Average
Recommended:
No!

Sensei Peter lacks self-confidence. Therefore, when he sees a student is excelling in karate, he begins to humiliate that student in front of other students to prove that he is the boss of the class. For this very reason, he does not teach his students any karate techniques. He spends 90% of the class time talking about Seisan Kata.

You are better off, finding another class in Abbotsford, and investing your time and money wisely.


(0 of 1 People found this review helpful)

A fantastic place to learn Karate

Feb 11 2019 by C. Dapp (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I’ve had my child in the Little Ninjas and then the novice program. She is having a wonderful experience and is learning all the time. The Instructors are knowledgeable and friendly.


(2 of 6 People found this review helpful)

I would not recommend

Feb 08 2019 by Vishal (Former Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Did not enjoy it here at all. Since the price is relatively low like 40$ . Every random person in mission can be found at this dojo. No self defense techniques taught.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Wow, the black belts running this place are the real deal !!

Aug 23 2018 by Grateful Father (Former Student with 10+ Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This DoJo trains all their students to reach their personal best. This is a family run facility, where the black belts in charge receive their training from the highest trained Master in this style. Their Master is a retired US Marine who was in the top 3% of physically fit marines for his entire career.

Anyone who has anything negative to say about this DoJo and the family that runs it should be ashamed of themselves. This is NOT an organization that exists to get rich on the backs of their students, but rather gives unbelievable trying to anyone and everyone who enters their door. The prices they charge barley covers the expenses of running this organization. It is about the love of seeing students grow rather than filling their wallets that motivate Peter and Tracy.

Karate is not just about fighting, it is about becoming a better citizen and community member. Peter and Tracy give their time and hearts to this community and are incredible living examples of how we can all be better citizens and give back to our communities.

I and many others trust them to train and teach our children to be better people. My entire family trained in the DoJo for over ten years and although we have all moved on to other things in our lives, we are definitely better people for having been trained in this DoJo.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Amazing training, if you want the best this is the place to learn.

Aug 21 2018 by Ron L (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

If you want a good workout, in a friendly environment, where you actually learn to defend yourself, this is the place to train.


(4 of 14 People found this review helpful)

Waste of time, would not go there again.

Jul 07 2017 by Vicky (Former Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Doesnt even deserve one star. Since the price is too cheap . This place has a hell lot of members. All stinky people come here. No carpets, no fan for summers, not even the drive through doors are open for circulation. They pair you with one partner and you have to stretch his legs like a baby. Even though your partner 's gi is drenched in sweat and makes you throw up. Stinky, dirty place, every one's foot are covered in dirt after training on tiled floor, if you are late by 5 minutes the instructor tells you to go and kneel down on the door outside, and behaves rudely. I know i didnt buy this place for 40 bucks but atleast get your attitude straight, i am your student here and not your slave. . Washrooms are rarely cleaned. Same levels of class even for those who willing to train with adults rather than kids. would not suggest this place to anyone.


(3 of 11 People found this review helpful)

Waste of time, would not go there again.

Jul 07 2017 by Vicky (Former Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

Since the price is too cheap . All stinky people come here. No carpets, no fan for summers, not even the drive through doors are open for circulation. They pair you with one partner and you have to stretch his legs like a baby. Even though your partner 's gi is drenched in sweat and makes you throw up. Stinky, dirty place, every one's foot are covered in dirt after training on tiled floor, if you are late by 5 minutes the instructor tells you to go and kneel down on the door outside, and behaves rudely. Washrooms are rarely cleaned. Same levels of class even for those who willing to train with adults rather than kids. would not suggest this place to anyone.


(3 of 5 People found this review helpful)

A great place to learn Martial Arts.

Aug 07 2013 by Jadyn Weiss (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

A great place to learn how to defend yourself. And have fun at the same time.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Mission

Top Martial Arts in Mission, Canada

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Mission, Canada area. View a list of Dojo in Mission, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.