Canada's Dojo Directory

2,350 Dojos in Canada, 34,359 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 8269 Visitors

Reviews of TrickyBJJ Academy

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of TrickyBJJ Academy in Owen Sound, Canada. 8 Reviewer rated TrickyBJJ Academy as Good. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Good (8 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Good

6 out of 8 Reviewer recommended TrickyBJJ Academy.

(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Great place since afew bad apples have been removed

Nov 10 2023 by Parent/Student (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Average
Recommended:
Yes

Hey, seen the reviews below, I’ve been training here for years and even my children come here, we have had some bad apples on the mats, but they have been removed, environment is great, people need to grow up, coaches are friendly, approachable and understanding, good moral character.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Great place! Welcoming Group!

Nov 08 2023 by BJJ BuM (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Good
Recommended:
Yes

TrickyBJJ Academy offers exceptional training with top-notch instruction. The atmosphere is welcoming, and the students are incredible. Highly recommended!

The schedule is great, works well with my daytime job.


(1 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Dont bother visiting

Oct 29 2023 by Dissapointed (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

I visited TrickyBJJ but did not even bother putting on my gi. Asked if I visited another club, it was toxic bashing the other clubs. Visitors dont want to be drawn into the local politics I just want to roll while on a summer break.


(8 of 10 People found this review helpful)

TrickyBJJ is a Toxic and Dying BJJ Club

Jun 07 2022 by BJJ Nomad (Former Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Poor
Other aspects:
Poor
Recommended:
No!

I visited TrickyBJJ in the past year and all the coach and his purple belt can talk about is how bad the other clubs are in the region. Out of curiosity I visited the other clubs and came to realize how good Goodfellows BJJ (Owen Sound), Killian Academy (Owen Sound) and Topp Performance (Port Elgin) are. Whilst the other clubs are packed with students, TrickyBJJ at most has had up to 3 students. The coach is overweight and should rather consider cutting on pizza and Timbits. In my humble opinion, the environment is toxic. You are better off visiting the other clubs in the region. (Not one of the other club coaches had a negative opinion on TrickyBJJ, that in itself speaks volumes. Move along nothing to see here. )


(1 of 4 People found this review helpful)

An amazing experience

Aug 02 2018 by Mr.C (Former Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

This gym changed my life. The gym it’s self is nice, clean and in a great location. Coach tricky is the best offering unique, awesome and effective jujitsu techniques. The guys at the gym are great, they became like a second family to me in my time there. It’s a great place to train casually or competitively. I’m my seven months there I went from having no jujitsu knowledge to competing in two competitions and doing well in both.


(5 of 7 People found this review helpful)

Owen sound finally has BJJ

Jan 04 2017 by T Smith (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Good
Recommended:
Yes

Friendly clean and modern BJJ offered

It's all in the details, the coach is welcoming and friendly offering a relaxed studio to learn and experience BJJ ( Brazilian jiu-jitsu), clean mats and egos left at the door, evening classes and affordable :) from beginners looking for self defence To anyone who ever wanted to choke someone ;) lol

Oss


(2 of 5 People found this review helpful)

A great place to learn jiu-jitsu

Jan 01 2017 by Mandie (Active Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Good
Other aspects:
Good
Recommended:
Yes

Friendly and welcoming environment great people to train with. Location is great free parking in the back! Evening classes and always welcoming new comers!


(3 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Trickybjj is where its at

Jan 01 2017 by roller (Active Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Very Good
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

A great experience in Bjj

awesome instruction

a small but welcoming group

evening classes available, afforable rates

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Owen Sound

Top Martial Arts in Owen Sound, Canada

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Owen Sound, Canada area. View a list of Dojo in Owen Sound, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.