Canada's Dojo Directory

2,279 Dojos in Canada, 32,833 Total
Helping people find Dojo since 2004
Currently online: 421 Visitors

Reviews of Rampullas Martial Arts

This page shows Reviews & Testimonials of Rampullas Martial Arts in Georgetown, Canada. 21 Reviewer rated Rampullas Martial Arts as Excellent. Read detailed reviews below.

If you are familiar with this school, please share your experience and help your local Martial Arts community.

Submit your Review

Average Rating: Excellent (21 Reviews)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent

21 out of 21 Reviewer recommended Rampullas Martial Arts.

(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

The BEST There Is, In Martial Arts

Jan 21 2017 by Captain Pete, Flight Simulator (Familiar with the School , No Personal Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I am not a member, but have known Tony for over fifty years, HONESTY, RELIABILITY

And to give 100% in everything he does is what TONY is all about. It is an HONOR

To be his friend, If you give 85% Tony will NOT give up on you until he sees his equal

Effort of 100% returned. ..... that, s TONY.


(15 of 15 People found this review helpful)

Rampulla's Martial Arts: A Life Changer

Feb 26 2016 by GP (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Our family stumbled upon Rampulla’s Martial Arts by freak chance: my five-year-old daughter won a free month’s membership in a school raffle, and we gave it a shot. Nothing to lose. Well, almost a decade later, nothing was lost. Nothing at all. Funny how life goes. My other daughter signed up, and I took the plunge myself, joining the family and adult classes a few months later. In my mid-thirties, tired of failed attempts at boring gyms and mind-numbing jogging, this was among the best decisions of my life.

Through the instructors’ superb guidance and exemplary examples of skill, confidence, humility, dedication and patience, my girls are now internationally award winning black-belts, now assisting with teaching and guiding the next generation of martial artists.

A sign on the wall in the dojo says it all: A conversation with the right Sensei is worth 10 years with the wrong instructor. Swing by, have a conversation, see what it’s all about and heck… maybe you’ll join yourself?


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

We would recommend Rampulla's Martial Arts to everybody

Feb 12 2016 by AT (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Over the years we had but amazing experiences with Rampulla's Martial Arts school.

It is an excellent place for kids and adults to develop their skills. Our son loves every minute in the DoJo.

Good Job!


(1 of 1 People found this review helpful)

Helping kids grow and thrive in Martial Arts & life

Dec 19 2015 by CDF (Parent of a Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Our son joined several years ago and has thrived under the care of Sensei Tony & his family. He is fair and clear with his expectations and while he accepts no poor behaviour he guides the class with compassion and a smile. He tests for belts when the student has earned it - and this allows our son to feel a great deal of pride knowing his belt was earned, not bought. Our son comes out of classes tired, but also energized and smiling.


(2 of 2 People found this review helpful)

The Only Place Worth Training

Dec 07 2015 by Savannah (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I attended Rampulla's for approximately five and a half years and always felt the love and support from everyone within the Dojo. The Sensei's give helpful advice, push students to their limits (in a positive manner) while encouraging confidence and respect. Rampulla's constantly ranks higher than competing Karate schools in tournaments, demonstrating the knowledge attained during regular class attendance. If you're looking for a world-class dojo to improve upon yourself, Rampulla's is the place to go.


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Great Dojo - Great Sensei

Nov 27 2015 by Carl (Former Student with Less than 1 Month Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I am familiar with Rampulla's Martial Arts due to the many high caliber martial artists that represent the dojo in tournaments and in the entertainment business. I have taken some classes there and I highly recommend this school.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Yet another satisfied student

Nov 27 2015 by RevS (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I began attending Rampulla's Martial Arts in mid-2014. I realized that my level of fitness was at an all-time low and that I needed a workout environment that would be engaging and challenging - having studied four other styles on-and-off over the past thirty years, I told my wife, "I'm not a gym guy; I'm a dojo guy!"

I asked my instructor from my previous school about Sensei Tony and was immediately told to "Go, go, go! Get on the floor!" The Okinawan style I had studied before was simple and practical, similar to what is taught here, and once I got my muscle memory back, I started to advance again. But Rampulla's adds some twists from Koryu Uchinadi that expand the knowledge base even further. Every move has a purpose, every stance has an application, and every lesson has meaning. Classes with children or classes with fellow adults all provide elements of learning.

I will say that the high number of black belts made me worry at first that this might be a McDojo - I attended one for a while once, where as long as you paid for your belt, you got it. This is *certainly* not the case here. I find that the black belts at Rampulla's MA are indeed experts with a high level of dedication to their craft, a compassionate way of teaching lower-ranking students, and a strong desire not to let down Sensei Tony. He is truly a "master instructor" in every sense of the word.


(1 of 2 People found this review helpful)

Amazing Martial Arts School

Nov 26 2015 by ARosa (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Rampullas Martial Arts is an excellent family run karate club that teaches and reinforces great values like discipline, respect and dedication through example. I have nothing but positive comments for Sensei Tony Rampulla as he is extremely accomplished in his martial arts career and very friendly. When I began taking martial arts, I was entering my first year of high school, I was incredibly shy, nervous and wasn't in the greatest shape however, since my first day at training at this school I knew it would be a positive environment where I could work hard to improve and be taught how to excel at something I knew absolutely nothing about.

Five years later, I've improved many things in my life and I'd like to attribute most of that confidence and pride in my martial arts training that I was lucky enough to receive from an amazing group of people. The Rampullas are incredibly helpful and genuine people that I'm proud to call my instructors.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Family Dojo!

Nov 26 2015 by T Smith (Parent of a Student with 6 Months - 1 Year Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

We enrolled our daughter (6) and son (9) at Rampullas just over 6 months ago. They love it! We had tried other dojo's in the past, and are excited that we finally found Rampullas. It is exactly what we were looking for! Real Karate taught by a family of instructors who care about teaching Karate properly, (as opposed to quickly), and teaching each child individually. We were concerned our son was having a difficult time and suffering from anxiety after changing schools 3 times in the span of just over 1 year. When we enrolled him in Martial Arts, the anxiety seemed to lessen. Instead of showing nervousness, he would breakout into doing his kata's. Even his teacher at school has mentioned that he seems much happier. I highly recommend Rampullas to anyone!!!


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Top Notch Karate School!

Nov 26 2015 by cd (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Excellent traditional karate club with knowledgeable Senseis. My 2 sons and I are members and it has an awesome family atmosphere. The dojo training environment in a converted church is as good as it gets. I highly recommend Rampullas Martial Arts.


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

A Karate Club that makes you Feel Like Family

Nov 20 2015 by MHughes (Former Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Our family have all been members at Rampulla's over the years. Every class was filled with encouragement and support while convincing us that we could do more than we ever believed possible. My kids and I have become stronger people as a result of being a part of that club. All of the Rampulla family are considered extended family to us because of their caring and fun-loving approach. I would highly recommend Rampulla's if you'd like to give martial arts a try.


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Excellent Atmosphere, Great Instruction

Nov 19 2015 by John M (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

When our son was five or six years old, we enrolled him for a trial month at one of the other Martial Arts schools in town. After 3 weeks or so it was clear that the school was not a good fit for him, and we were concerned that he would never want to darken the door of another Dojo again.

Fortunately, one of his best friends had started at Rampulla's. "Don't worry!" Cameron said. "Sensei Tony is great!"

We watched a class and interviewed Tony. His warm smile and gentle charisma quickly won us and our son over, and he agreed to join.

9 years later, his training at Rampulla's has helped transform him from being a rudderless, borderline ADD kid to a calm, confident, focused, powerful yet humble young man.

Tony's patience with his students is amazing. When correcting a move or a stance in the class environment, he is always very careful to not single anyone out, and always welcomes questions.

Six months after our son started, my wife bought me a trial month. She was concerned that my only outlet from my high stress job was a couple of drinks upon arriving home from work, and that was contributing to the middle age spread that was beginning to take its' toll on my body. At first I thought I was much too old (47 at the time) to start something like Karate. But then I thought, "What have I got to lose? I'll give it a shot. " Turns out it was about 30lbs that I had to lose! I've never looked back.

Karate (or any martial art, irrespective of style) is hard work. There are no shortcuts.

But the payoff is worth the investment, especially if you choose a quality school like the one run by Tony Rampulla. Osu.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

Top notch, authentic Karate in Georgetown

Nov 19 2015 by Grateful (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

When you go looking for a dojo, you want to know if their instructors are experienced, knowledgeable, can teach, and have the genuine interests of their students at heart. Rampullas is such a dojo. Tony Rampulla is a very experienced Karate instructor with more than 30 years experience. He has a great breadth of experience in multiple styles. He chooses to teach Koryu Uchinadi (Ancient Okinawan) Karate - an authentic, practical and highly effective traditional martial art. Tony is an excellent instructor and leads a team of skill black belt instructors. He leads by example. He teaches beginner classes (something many senior instructors at other dojos couldn't be bothered doing). He often leads the warm up (again something few senior instructors at other dojos do). He is very patient. I've seen him work with beginners until they get it. He teaches with no pressure and no ego.

I've trained on and off for many years. I've seen many instructors and Tony is one of the best. If you are interested in Karate for yourself or your family, and you don't train here. .. you should.


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Great teachers and environment

Nov 19 2015 by MikeK (Active Student with 3 - 5 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I joined Rampulla's Martial Arts in March 2013 and it has been a great experience. Through the years I have learned from many instructors, from the Senseis to guest martial artists such as Patrick McCarthy, and made friends with members young and old. I am stronger and more confident than I have ever been. Sensei Tony and his Senseis have treated me with nothing but kindness and respect.

It can take several years to get a black belt here but it is well worth the time. If you want real karate, this is the place to learn.


(4 of 4 People found this review helpful)

Best Martial Arts School in Georgetown!

Nov 19 2015 by Hazel D (Parent of a Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

My kids have been part of Rampulla's Martial Arts for 2& 1/2 years now. Not only have they learned karate, but they have developed wonderful friendships with the other students and their instructors. As a parent, we always strive to bring out the best in our kids. We want them to grow up to be confident and happy. So, it is with much appreciation and respect that I have for Tony, Brenda, Christian & Dylan for having that same belief system with their students. Anybody can show you how to do a karate move, but to have respect for it and appreciate it, that can only be taught by a great teacher. Those are the lessons I want my children to have for the rest of their lives. Less


(3 of 3 People found this review helpful)

Always A Happy Place

Nov 19 2015 by Larry Crosby (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I came to Sensei Tony as a middle aged man looking to get back into shape and accomplish something I desired for years. Due to the heart warming and caring Rampulla family of instructors, I found a home away from home and achieved everything I had desired and more. I have never met a more humble and caring man in my half a century of walking this planet. The camaraderie and respect at this club is like nothing you have ever witnessed. Sensei Tony is a wonderful man and treats everyone with respect and dignity. If true Martial Arts is what you would like to learn then, this is definitely the place.


(6 of 6 People found this review helpful)

The Best Karate Club in Halton Hills

Nov 19 2015 by Marcus G. (Active Student with 10+ Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I've had the honour and privilege of training at Rampulla's Martial Arts for almost 15 years. During this time, I've temporarily left the club for work and school. But I always keep coming back. That's because, no matter how many great martial artists I train under, Tony Rampulla always proves to be the most passionate about his students' success. He has taught me invaluable self-defence skills and helped me maintain a high level of physical fitness. His classes are great way to relieve stress after a tough day, too. Other adults can certainly expect these same benefits. I've also seen children grow up under Tony's watchful eye. They learn focus and respect, along with self-defence abilities that help them gain confidence to take on any challenge. Whether you're looking to improve focus, become more fit, learn how to protect yourself, become a successful martial arts competitor, or just have fun sparring, I wholeheartedly recommend Rampulla's Martial Arts


(6 of 6 People found this review helpful)

A safe place where everyone feels appreciated.

Nov 19 2015 by OJC (Active Student with 1 - 3 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

After 6 years in a different dojo, practicing a different martial art, my son and I left because of a disageement. At first it was nice not to have to be available for class but it soon became evident that the night was basically spend watching t. v. or on the internet. We quickly got out of shape and after 9 months of this I had enough.

One night I took my son to Rampulla's without telling him where we were going so I did not influence his opinion. I had emailed Tony Rampulla beforehand asking him if we could watch a few classes and he was very accommodating.

Arriving at the dojo it was easy to strike a conversation with the karatekas that were waiting for next class. Each and everyone of them had nothing but good to say about Rampulla's. Some, happy to see each other again, hugged upon arrival at the dojo. There were lots of stories and laughs.

When it was time for class to begin we walked up the stairs as the previous class came down. What struck me was that each and everyone of the people that came down glowed with a big smile on their face. Not one of them looked like they were unhappy. Not only that but there were lots of women, girls, and even some whole families. The members going down greeted the members going up and vise-versa with great enthusiasm.

Tony Rampulla (big smile on his face too) lead the class into a vigerous half hour warm up. The class that followed was awesome! We returned to watch a different class some other night and got the same experience. Shortly thereafter we decided to try it out for a few classes and then signed up.

Today my wife and daughter are also in the game and we love it! In the 2. 5 years that we have been there we have not once seen Sensei Tony being rude or pick on someone. This dojo is a warm and safe family environment where everyone is appreciated.

There is much more good I can say but I suggest you get on out here and check it out for yourself. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.


(5 of 5 People found this review helpful)

The place to go to learn the real Art of Karate

Nov 19 2015 by Slip slops in dojo guy (Parent of a Student with 10+ Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

Wonderful club, , excellent instructors. Where you go to learn real karate . . the one negative review earlier is somewhat juvenile and really not at all accurate. I have had my children train with Sensei Tony over many many years. Not once has he come across as disrespectful and a bully. Quite the oppostite. ..Sensei Tony has compassion and a true love for the art . Unfortunately, too many people try to look for the "easy" route . .. when in reality there is no easy route.

Karate requires years of dedication and effort and is not for everyone. There are very mediocre schools out there that cater for those who are just in persuit of a belt! . I highly recommend Rampullas if you truly wish to learn the ART of Karate-OSU


(7 of 7 People found this review helpful)

More than Martial Arts

Nov 19 2015 by Peter R. (Active Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Excellent
Recommended:
Yes

I've been a proud member at Rampulla's for the past 6 years and cannot say enough positive things about the quality of instruction, professionalism of the instructors, fellow students and the Rampulla family. They lead by example, not only in the dojo but in their day to day lives. They live the karate moral code and set a high standard. Clearly it is not just a business to them. Ask Sensei to sign you up for a long term contract. ..he has no such thing, tell him you want to learn marital arts because you want to be a fighter. ..he'll tell you, you're at the wrong school, ask him to bow to a 5 yr old white belt. ..I've seen him do it daily, tell him that if you are not graded soon you'll cancel your membership. ..he'll shake your hand and wish you luck before you leave. The Rampulla's teach and promote far more than martial arts, they teach young and old alike, respect, self confidence and ethical conduct, so sadly lacking in today's world.


(7 of 8 People found this review helpful)

Martial Arts in a warm, family environment

Dec 05 2012 by Crystal (Parent of a Student with 5 - 10 Years Experience at this school)

Quality of Instruction:
Excellent
Other aspects:
Very Good
Recommended:
Yes

Instructors and students have a caring, family-like relationship that makes Rampulla's a special place to be. The students are treated with respect, and thus learn respect. The Rampullas really care and it translates into a dojo where I can be sure that my daughter is learning values and morals as well as Martial Arts. I trust the Senseis with her, and she is happy and at home here. As a parent, there is no more one can ask.

Write a Review

Martial Arts in Georgetown

Top Martial Arts in Georgetown, Canada

This Chart shows the Martial Arts Styles offered most in Georgetown, Canada area. View a list of Dojo in Georgetown, or enter your address below to find schools closest to you.